Poetry Post 1

A quote from William Blake’s The Auguries of Innocence:

To see a world in a grain of sand,

And a heaven in a wild flower,

Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,

And eternity in an hour.

Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep by Mary Elizabeth Frye:

Do not stand at my grave and weep;

I am not there. I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

I am the diamond glints on snow.

I am the sunlight on ripened grain.

I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry;

I am not there. I did not die.

—–

I’m not really a big enthusiast when in comes to poems. It’s one genre of literature I don’t find myself in too often. There are some poems, though, that really move and inspire me. The two examples above are just a taste of some poems I really love.

Even if the quote I chose in “The Auguries in Innocence” isn’t really Β the all-defining excerpt, it’s the stanza I loved the most. Also, Frye’s poem may be used more often during funerals – something not too out-of-season in my life right now, but I think it transcends the literal meaning of its words. Don’t all poems?

Note: I’d love this poem to be read at my funeral. Hopefully decades and decades away.

Leave a Reply

