Singapura Day 1 & 2 – Sun, Rain and Roller Coasters

 

 

My family and I went to Singapore last Nov. 27-30, 2011. It wasn’t the same ole family vacay this time since there were 3 families traveling this time.

Once again we traveled by night so I didn’t take any pictures when we got there. Even before boarding the plane we had a mini-adventure.

My mom forgot to bring her credit card (the one she used to pay for all our tickets) and the check-in counter wouldn’t let us check in. We arrived at the airport at around 6pm but just got to the plane right before take-off (at around 7:30pm). So, a lesson to all travelers out there. Bring your credit card! Or pay in cash 🙂

So, let’s skip to day 2. The fam and I went to Universal studios via a cable car. 

Last year, I went to Singapore and Universal Studios with my mom and her officemates. Unfortunately, the Battlestar Galactica ride was still under construction. I looked in awe at the twisting rails and the intersecting red and blue lines. We left there without me riding the beast that is the Cylon track. One year later (almost to the day), I came back and the ride was open. I wasted no time and rode the Cylon with my kuya before doing anything else.

Let me tell you, this was the best roller coaster ever. In my 22 years of riding on roller coasters (every chance I got), I have to say the Cylon line in the Battlestar Galactica ride trumps them all. By the end, I was so spent and my voice was so hoarse that you’d think a mass murderer chased me down Orchard Road. I was lucky enough to ride it 2x and each time was fantastic! I even got to ride the red line with my younger brother and it was a treat as well.

After riding all the rides, we decided to catch the showing of Waterworld. I had already seen it last year so I was a little jaded. The kids though (5 of them all 12 yrs old and below) would enjoy it. We ended up sitting in the Splash zone and well, we did get splashed. The opening warm-up for the show was to have these three guys randomly spraying/dumping water on to the audience. We were targeted since we had umbrella-shields up. We weren’t soaked, though so it was all good. Then, it began to rain. The main show area was open so it was dangerous for the actors to do stunts on the slippery platforms. What’s more, the pyrotechnics probably wouldn’t go off. The show was delayed an hour. Finally, the rain abated and they could begin. As the show started, one of the stunt guys got caught in his rappelling system and couldn’t get down. Talk about bad luck. The show got cancelled and we left.

We had to leave Universal earlier than I expected because it started to rain again and the kids with us were tired. So, we got picked up and our bus driver dropped up off at a nearby hawkers’ stalls. It was literally beside our hotel so we decided to have an afternoon snack.

I bought wanton soup and was surprised not to find noodles. :)) The food was delicious and so authentic. One of my favorites was the desserts. Pictures above was our favored dessert place. There were all sorts of iced-treats. Ice Kachang was my instant fave. Another one I tried was the Chim Chow w/ Longan (sort of like lychee and gulaman). If it weren’t for the threat of sore throat I’d probably have bought one dessert per meal.

Days one and two were both tiring and fulfilling at the same time. I remembered why I loved Singapore and why I loved to travel.

Here are some of our travel stats in case you were planning to go as well.

Hotel: Concorde Hotel (in the center of Orchard Rd, beside hawker stalls and above a foodcourt that has affordable meals from S$3-S$8)

Transportation to Universal Studios: S$55 one way (for 13 persons, arranged by our hotel)

Price of food at the hawkers stalls: S$5-$10

Fun fan/spray contraption that helps you cool down = S$19 (inside Universal Studios, super worth it. Singapore was hot plus you can use it in the Philippines.)

Singapore exchange rate: S$1 = approx. 34php

 

 

2 responses to “Singapura Day 1 & 2 – Sun, Rain and Roller Coasters

  1. i LOVE hawker food! Popiyah and Young Tau Foo are two my favorite foods ever..!!

  2. Spell F-U-N myca! I’m so jealous! Haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

