The Kapitolyo Walking Food Tour Part 1

As promised, here’s part one of my food tour of Kapitolyo 😄

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Kapitolyo and it’s burgeoning food scene, here’s a map to the small yet lively community where restaurants of all kinds are popping up.

Our first stop was Thai Dara located along East Capitol Drive, near the corner of San Francisco. My kuya was planning on treating us for dinner since he just got his first job this November. Thai Dara was walking distance from our house so we decided to check it out. Now, my family has been to Thailand so we had high hopes for the food here. We are all avid fans of Thai food.

We started off with the Tom Yum soup. I for one was disappointed with it. I was expecting a sweet, sour and spicy soup but this one was just spicy. My mom loved it, though, so I guess it depends on your taste.

One of my favorite dishes of the evening was the Pomelo Salad. Though it didn’t have a lot of veggies in it and the serving was quite small, I’d recommend Thai Dara first-timers to order it. It’s a great complement to the heavier dishes such as the Pad Thai and the Satay.

Next was the Pad Thai. My kuya and I loved their Pad Thai. It was a bit sweet but still didn’t lose it’s flavor. The noodles were also firm and not smushy. I can’t describe it but it’s one of the best Pad Thai’s I’ve tasted. If you’ve tasted Pad Thai from Thailand before, it’s almost 100% similar to the authentic dish. Though considered street food in Thailand, Pad Thai for me is one of the indicators of a good Thai restaurant.

The next dish was something new we haven’t tried before. It’s the Basil Chicken. Like it’s name suggests, it’s shredded chicken flavored with Basil. It’s a different taste than what you would expect from a chicken dish. The Basil flavor was strong without being overpowering. It’s has a sense of freshness in your mouth once you take a bite.

Another classic Thai dish, Pork Satay. The meat was really good. I’m very particular with the taste of the meat itself without the sauce. It was yummy but the peanut sauce was nothing special.

Our dessert was sticky rice with mango. Sorry for the blurry shot, I only had 10 seconds to snap a photo before my kuya and mom devoured everything. The rice was goooood. The consistency was great, not too sticky and not at all runny.

(Edit: Went back recently to Thai Dara for Mother’s Day and had Nom Tuk and Green Chicken Curry. I recommend both very much! Num Tok is a beef dish that is often described as a beef salad. It’s very good. The Chicken Curry was also delicious, creamy and just the right amount of spicy. Great dishes)

While the three of us were having dessert in Thai Dara, my dad and younger brother snuck off to CAB Cafe just across the street. They ordered a delicious Banana Cream Pie. Unfortunately, by the time we got there, it was already half-eaten. So much for the photo-op. Instead, let me tempt you with other cakes they had on display.

Here ends part one of the Kapitolyo food tour. I hope I gave you an idea of which restaurants to visit if you were ever in the neighborhood. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

