Daily Archives: March 15, 2014

More-than-a-year-after-New-Year’s Day Drabbles (Part 3)

Last 2013, I swore to write 13 drabbles as part of my New Years Day tradition. To this day, I’ve been short two drabble. So, for closure, here they are:

Two beeping pinpoints on the radar. Gladys squinted her eyes and held her breath. This was her first mission outside the walls and she was the lookout. Her two teammates, Sasha and Grey, went out to recon the area. They were supposed to report back in 2 hours with the lay of the land. They gathered intel that there was a straggling group nearby, all that remained of the Manchurian rebels. Maybe they can be recruited, maybe they have weapons or provisions they could steal. It was always a 50-50 thing. Two beeping pinpoints, Sasha and Grey. One beeping pinpoint.

=====

One day, I’ll take you to Italy and we can ride a gondola together,” he whispered in my ear.

“All the gondolas are sunk now, you know,” I whispered back. They always said I was a pessimist.

“I’ll make you a gondola.”

I wrapped my arms around his chest. “Okay.” 

“Then, we’ll eat gelato. I don’t know if you American men like gelato, but it’s the best thing on earth.”

He always did like to point out that I was an American. It probably has something to do with his mom warning him about ‘those American ublyudok‘.

“I love gelato.”

=====

Yay! More than a year in the making 🙂 My 13 drabbles. Check out Part 1 and Part 2.

